Assault and battery charges can come with steep penalties

Most Illinois residents interact with other people on a daily basis. While most of those interactions may be brief and uneventful, some may not go as planned. In fact, you may have found yourself in an unexpected altercation with another person that you were unsure how to handle. Unfortunately, things got physical.

You may not consider yourself a violent person, and the idea of one day facing assault and battery charges may have seemed unfathomable to you. However, that is the exact situation you now face.

Why were you arrested?

It can be difficult for authorities to determine in the moment who did what. As a result, if you and another person got into a physical altercation, you both may have been arrested and charged. You may not think the charges suit the circumstances because you may have been trying to defend yourself or someone else, but it may take time in the courtroom before you can clear up the situation.

If authorities charged you with assault and battery, you need to understand that those charges can range in severity. The following information may be useful to you:

  • Battery involves insulting, provocative or unwanted physical contact with another person or actions that caused bodily harm to another person.
  • Assault does not typically involve physical contact according to Illinois law.
  • If an altercation results in severe injuries, permanent disability or disfigurement, aggravated battery charges could result.
  • Aggravated battery charges could also apply if a deadly weapon was involved.

Understanding the exact charges you face could help you when creating your criminal defense presentation.

Possible penalties

Though you certainly want to work toward more favorable outcomes, you still need to understand the possible penalties should the court convict you of any assault or battery charge. Some potential outcomes include the following:

  • Class C misdemeanor assault could result in up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,500.
  • Class A misdemeanor aggravated assault could lead to up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
  • Class 4 felony aggravated assault could have a sentence of up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.
  • Class 3 felony aggravated battery could result in prison time of two to five years.

Your specific circumstances could have a tremendous impact on your case. Therefore, it is important that you go over the details of your predicament and understand your available legal options.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

How Can We Help You

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

The Law Office of Jessica Koester, LLC
100 North Main Street
2nd Floor, Suite 1
Edwardsville, IL 62025

Toll Free: 866-397-9110
Phone: 618-307-4192
Fax: 618-307-5870
Edwardsville Law Office Map