While driving through Illinois, you may wonder about the laws in place for those who drink and drive. Each state has its own laws, some of which are stricter than others. The following are some of the toughest in the United States.
If you are charged with drunk driving in Arizona, your license will be suspended soon after you are arrested. An interlock device is typically installed in your vehicle if you are convicted, even if it is your first charge. There are also several fees in addition to having the lock in place for at least 12 months along with possible jail time.
The average blood alcohol limit is .08% in most states. However, Utah has a limit of .05%, which enhances the likelihood that you can have just one or two drinks and be charged with a DUI compared to the number of beverages that you might have in other states before being charged.
If you live in Washington or are traveling through the state and decide to have a drink before getting on the road and driving, you should know that the fines can be close to $5,000 if you are caught and charged. Even if an officer stops you, you can still have your license suspended for at least 90 days. There is also the possibility for you to receive a sentence of up to a year in jail, with up to five years of probation being an option.
As driving is often considered a privilege for many people, there are laws for everyone’s safety. Given the varied DUI punishments, it is important to know what you are facing if you drink and drive.